ADMINISTRATIVE CODE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CATEGORY:	CODE NUMBER:
Committees / Boards / Commissions /Examiners	AC-2-15
TITLE:	ADOPTED:
The Tourist Development Council Administrative Code	12/14/94
	AMENDED : 06/25/13
	ORIGINATING DEPARTMENT:
	County Attorney

PURPOSE/SCOPE:

To establish the Rules of Procedure for nominating and appointing members to the Tourist Development Council. This Code supplements Florida Statutes §125.0104, Lee County Ordinance No.13-14, as may be amended, and Lee County Administrative Codes 1-3 and 2-3.

POLICY/PROCEDURE:

SECTION I:

This Code shall be known by its short title:

"The Tourist Development Council Administrative Code".

SECTION II:

Rules for nominating the Tourist Development Council.

1. The Council membership criteria is set by Florida Statute §125.0104(4)(e):

Nine members shall compose the Lee County Tourist Development Council.

- a. Three members shall be elected local government officials, one of which shall be the Chair of the Board or other Board member, as designated. One of the other local government officials shall be from one of the two municipalities that generated the highest revenues from the tourist tax in the previous 2 fiscal years. The second elected municipal official shall be from one of the remaining municipalities and the second municipal seat shall also rotate every 2 years. Elected municipal officials appointed to those two seats on the Council shall serve for terms of 2 years.
- b. Three members shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations subject to the tax.

- c. Three members shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, but who are not owners of facilities subject to the tax. For example, potential involvement might include, but is not limited to, restaurant ownership, car rental, tourist amusement attractions.
- 2. All members of the Council must be electors of Lee County.
- 3. The Board of County Commissioners appoints the Tourist Development Council, which is a statutory advisory council of nine members.
- 4. Staggered terms shall be maintained, as required. For example, if a member is unable to complete his/her term, a new member will be appointed to complete the balance of that term only, and would then be eligible for a four-year re-appointment.

SECTION III:

The following schedule will set forth which Commissioner may nominate for appointment the members addressed in 1.b and 1.c of this Code:

ODD YEAR APPOINTMENTS:

DISTRICT #1 - Collector of Tax

DISTRICT #2 - Non-Collector of Tax

DISTRICT #3 - Non-Collector of Tax

EVEN YEAR APPOINTMENTS:

DISTRICT #4 - Collector of Tax

DISTRICT #5 - Collector of Tax

ROTATING:

Non-Collector of Tax

1998 - District #1

2002 - District #2

2006 - District #3

2010 - District #4

2014 - District #5

Public Resources will set a scheduled nomination schedule following the year 2014.